Members


Principal Investigators


Lukasz Dziewit
Prof. Lukasz Dziewit
E-mail: l.dziewit@uw.edu.pl
Google Scholar orcid

Lukasz Drewniak
Prof. Lukasz Drewniak
E-mail: ldrewniak@biol.uw.edu.pl
Google Scholar orcid


Senior Researchers (Associated Group Leaders and Co-leaders)


Przemyslaw Decewicz
Przemyslaw Decewicz, Ph.D.
E-mail: decewicz@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Genomics, metagenomics and metatranscriptomics of extreme environments
- Genomics and molecular biology of phages

Klaudia Debiec-Andrzejewska
Klaudia Debiec-Andrzejewska, Ph.D.
E-mail: k.debiec@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Plant growth promotion

Tomasz Kaminski
Tomasz Kaminski, Ph.D. Eng
E-mail: tkaminski@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Microfluidics
- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Kumar Pranaw
Kumar Pranaw, Ph.D.
E-mail: kpranaw@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion
- Plant growth promotion

Monika Radlinska
Monika Radlinska, Ph.D. D.Sc.
E-mail: m.radlinska@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Genomics and molecular biology of phages

Pawel Sikorski
Pawel Sikorski, Ph.D.
E-mail: pawelsikorski@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- RNA metabolism

Postdoctoral Researchers (Postdocs)


Angelika Fiodor
Angelika Fiodor, Ph.D.
E-mail: afiodor@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Plant growth promotion

Ewa Poniecka
Ewa Poniecka, Ph.D.
E-mail: e.poniecka@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Microfluidics
- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Adam Pyzik
Adam Pyzik, Ph.D.
E-mail: apyzik@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Genomics, metagenomics and metatranscriptomics of extreme environments
- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Biodeterioration of cultural heritage

Ph.D. Students


Nur Ajijah
Nur Ajijah, M.Sc.
E-mail: n.ajijah@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Plant growth promotion

Katarzyna Bujak
Katarzyna Bujak, M.Sc. Eng.
E-mail: k.bujak@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Genomics and molecular biology of phages

Martyna Ciezkowska
Martyna Ciezkowska, M.Sc.
E-mail: mciezkowska@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Ashutosh Choudhury
Ashutosh Choudhury, M.Sc.
E-mail: a.choudhury@cent.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Microfluidics

Nur Ajijah
Karol Ciuchcinski, M.Sc.
E-mail: k.ciuchcinski@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Genomics, metagenomics and metatranscriptomics of extreme environments

Maria Dabrowska
Maria Dabrowska, M.Sc.
E-mail: m.dabrowska@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Nur Ajijah
MIkolaj Iwan, M.Sc.
E-mail: m.iwan2@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Namrata Joshi
Namrata Joshi, M.Sc.
E-mail: njoshi@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Tomasz Krucon
Tomasz Krucon , M.Sc.
E-mail: tkrucon@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Marcin Małkowski
Marcin Małkowski, M.Sc.
E-mail: mm.malkowski@student.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Microfluidics

Marcin Musiałowski
Marcin Musiałowski, M.Sc.
E-mail: m.musialowski@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Plant growth promotion

Luca Potenza
Luca Potenza, M.Sc.
E-mail: l.potenza@student.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Microfluidics
- Heavy metals resistance, transformation, biometallurgy and bioremediation
- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Nur Ajijah
Anna Rokowska, M.Sc.
E-mail: a.rokowska@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Antibiotic resistance

Nur Ajijah
Zuzanna Ruszkowska, M.Sc.
E-mail: z.ruszkowska@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Michal Styczynski
Michal Styczynski, M.Sc.
E-mail: mstyczynski@biol.uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Genomics, metagenomics and metatranscriptomics of extreme environments
- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion

Nur Ajijah
Wojciech Wilczynski, M.Sc.
E-mail: wk.wilczynski@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Genomics, metagenomics and metatranscriptomics of extreme environments

Nur Ajijah
Mikolaj Wolacewicz, M.Sc.
E-mail: m.wolacewicz@uw.edu.pl
Research area:

- Biodegradation of organic pollutants and anaerobic digestion
- Antibiotic resistance

Project Managers, Technicians


Dawid
Dawid Grudzinski, B.Sc.
E-mail: dd.grudzinski@uw.edu.pl

Lukasz Kozon
Lukasz Kozon, M.Sc. Eng.
E-mail: lukaszkozon@uw.edu.pl

Katarzyna Piatkowska
Katarzyna Piatkowska, M.Sc.
E-mail: kpiatkowska@biol.uw.edu.pl


Master Students



Zuzanna Bienko


Michal Kitowicz


Aleksandra Goszcz


Karolina Jankowska


Julia Karbowska


Anna Lang


Katarzyna Nyt


Karol Piekarski


Wiktoria Pietrowicz


Weronika Pyter


Filip Romaniuk


Klaudia Staskiewicz


Weronika Trawinska


Nella Tuczko


Bachelor Students



Michalina Byczkowska


Zofia Godlewska


Aleksandra Junkier


Hanna Krasuska


Szymon Kusiak


Kinga Kurzatkowska


Alkham Nyam-Ochir


Zofia Olszewska


Younginn Park


Szymon Rzuczkowski


Aleksandra Tomaszewska


Jagoda Trzeciak


Mateusz Zbizek


Volunteers & Visitors


Katarzyna Grzelak (student)
Funding: self-funding
Home institution: Utrecht University (Netherlands)
Duration: 05.2017-07.2017

Stine Holm, M.Sc. (Ph.D. student)
Funding: home institution funding
Home Institution: Helmholtz Centre Potsdam (Germany)
Duration: 04.2017-05.2017

Lenka Tisakova, Ph.D. (research fellow)
Funding: FEMS Research Grant
Home Institution: University of Ss. Cyril and Methodius in Trnava (Slovakia)
Duration: 09.2016 - 11.2016

Clara Kuper (student)
Funding: GFPS fellow
Home Institution: Free University of Berlin (Germany)
Duration: 10.2015 - 03.2016


Former members



Mikolaj Dziurzynski, Ph.D.
Former PhD student
(2017-2022)


Adrian Gorecki, Ph.D.
Former PhD student
(2017-2022)


Jasneet Grewal, Ph.D.
Former Postdoc
(2021-2022)


Marco Gunthel, Ph.D.
Former Postdoc
(2020-2021)


Zhendong Yang "Leo", Ph.D.
Former PhD student
(2017-2021)


Krzysztof Romaniuk, Ph.D.
Former Ph.D. student
(2016-2020)


Jacek Retka, Ph.D. Eng.
Former Postdoc
(2017-2021)


Joanna Karczewska-Golec, M.Sc.
Former Science Policy Advisor
(2018-2020)


Anna Szych, Ph.D.
Former Ph.D. student
(2015-2019)
Former Lab Manager
(2020-2021)


Lucian Staicu, Ph.D.
Former Senior Researcher (Associated Group Leader)
(2018-2019)


Witold Uhrynowski, Ph.D.
Former Ph.D. student
(2014-2020)


Grazyna Jakusz, M.Sc. Eng.
Former Ph.D. student
(2017-2018)


Krzysztof Poszytek, Ph.D.
Former Ph.D. student
(2013-2020)


Olga Stepkowska, M.Sc.
Former technician
(2015-2017)


Piotr Golec, Ph.D.
Former Postdoc
(2017-2018)